2018 Heritage Scholarship Winners

Posted on December 11th, 2018

The winners of the 2018 Heritage Scholarship have been chosen. The Heritage Scholarship is an award of $1,500 that is offered through the Michigan Golf Course Superintendents Association. The award is available to the children of our current members who are enrolled in a post high school education curriculum.

Funding for this scholarship is provided by the proceeds from the 2018 Fundraisers, the Northern at Arcadia Bluffs, Western Golf Day at Blythefield C.C. and the Big Event at Walnut Creek C.C. Thank you to these facilities and our generous Sponsors & Industry Partners.

The applicants are asked to submit a 750 word essay along with evidence of their scholastic and extracurricular achievements. The scholarship committee then grades each applicant based on their submission and the 4 highest scores are awarded the scholarship. The submissions are graded based on the appearance of the application, the content of the essay followed by the applicant’s scholastic achievements and community involvement. These awards will be presented at 3:30 PM on Wednesday, January 23rd at the Michigan Turfgrass Conference in East Lansing.

This year’s winners include:

Mikaela Bluck, Daughter of jim Bluck, CGCS
Evan Hammon, Son of Steve Hammon
Caitlin Dahlin, Daughter of Ron Dahlin, CGCS
Trevor Roznowski, Son of Jason Roznowski

I would like to thank all 8 applicants for their time and efforts applying for this award. I find it extremely pleasing to be able to get to know these young adults through their submissions. I would encourage each applicant to continue to apply for this scholarship as the scores were very tightly grouped. An additional thank you to the 2018 Scholarship Committee Mike Rosen, Jesse Sholl, Seth Britton and Jim Priebe for their help in choosing the recipients.

Doug Hoeh
Treetops Resort
MiGCSA Board Member
Scholarship Committee Chairman

Michigan Golf Course Superintendents Association
Member of GCSAA