2020 Heritage Scholarship Winners

Posted on January 18th, 2021


The winners of the 2020 Heritage Scholarship have been chosen. The award is available to the dependents of current members who are enrolled in a post high school education curriculum.

Funding for this scholarship is provided by the proceeds from the 2020 Fundraisers, the Northern at Forest Dunes, Western Golf Day at Kalamazoo Country Club and the Big Event at Indianwood Golf & Country Club.

Thank you to the MiGCSA Members, Staff and Club Members at these host facilities and our generous Industry Partners for making these awards possible.


The applicants are asked to submit a 750 word essay along with evidence of their scholastic and extracurricular achievements. The scholarship committee then grades each applicant based on their submission and the highest scores are awarded the scholarship. The submissions are graded anonymously and based on the content of the essay followed by the applicant’s scholastic achievements and community involvement. 

This year’s winners in alphabetical order are:

Catlin Dahlin daughter of Ron Dahlin, CGCS The Meadows at GVSU
Aidan Goike son of Steve Goike, Alpena Country Club
Luke Hammon son of Steve Hammon, Traverse City Golf & Country Club
Caleb Keilen son of Andy Keilen, Knollwood Country Club
Hailey Kempf daughter of Chad Kempf, Rain Bird
David Pulaski son of Scott Pulaski, Walloon Lake Country Club
Meghan Roznowski daughter of Jason Roznoswki, Red Hawk Golf Club
Joseph Wilczynski son of Chris Wilczynski, C.W. Golf Architecture

Normally there are only four Heritage Scholarships given each year, however due to the volume and quality of applicants the MiGCSA Board has approved an additional $3,000 in scholarships.

I would like to thank all 26 applicants for their time and efforts applying for this award. I find it extremely pleasing to be able to get to know these young adults through their submissions. I would encourage each applicant to continue to apply for this scholarship as the scores were very tightly grouped. An additional thank you to the 2020 Heritage Scholarship Committee Tony Geib, Jesse Sholl, Seth Britton and Jim Priebe for their help in choosing the recipients.

Gene Davis
Elk Rapids Golf Club
MiGCSA Board Member
Scholarship Committee Co-Chairman

Member of GCSAA